Morning Glory 「朝顔」

Despite everything,
I’ve found my way back to you
You make me feel safe
So don’t tell me it won’t work
Let me love you my own way

Notes: In hanakotoba (花言葉), the Japanese language of flowers, the morning glory (朝顔) symbolizes “promises” (約束) and “strong bonds” (固い絆). The color of the morning glory is also important in hanakotoba. A white morning glory symbolizes “overflowing joy” (あふれる喜び). A green morning glory symbolizes “short love” (短い愛) or “fleeting love” (儚い恋). A purple morning glory symbolizes “tranquility” (冷静). In the western language of flowers, the morning glory symbolizes “love in vain” (はかない恋) and “affection” (愛情). [Japanese source, Japanese source 2]

Morning glory, Ipomoea nil (photo source: Michael Kensinger)

2 thoughts on “Morning Glory 「朝顔」

Leave a comment